24/7 Free Rehab Hotline

(877) 683-2684

Answered By Treatment Addiction Solutions

Alcohol laws in Utah

Nearly everyone throughout the United States is familiar with the law that to consume or purchase alcohol the individual must be over the age of 21 years old. This law holds up in all 50 states and was create to protect our nations youth. This has not always been the legal drinking age in the…
TABLE OF CONTENTS

seal of utahNearly everyone throughout the United States is familiar with the law that to consume or purchase alcohol the individual must be over the age of 21 years old. This law holds up in all 50 states and was create to protect our nations youth. This has not always been the legal drinking age in the United States, at one point the legal age varied state to state. This was until the National Minimum Drinking Age Act of 1984 was passed. With this as the United States law there are other laws within each individual state, some stricter than others. The overall goal of alcohol laws is to protect the states residents from the dangers of alcohol.

We’ve Helped Thousands of Individuals Overcome Drug and Alcohol Addiction

If you or a loved one are ready to overcome drug or alcohol abuse, our addiction specialists are here to guide you through every step. Many of our dedicated staff members are in long-term recovery themselves and understand firsthand the challenges of the recovery journey. This personal experience, combined with our professional expertise, allows us to offer compassionate, effective support tailored to your unique needs.
(877) 683-2684

Utah’s Alcohol Laws

The overall goal of Utah’s states laws is to protect its residents from the dangers of alcohol use and abuse. The sale of alcoholic beverages has been regulated by the Utah Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (UDABC) since two years after the end of prohibition in 1935. The state of Utah has a monopoly over the wholesaling and retailing of alcoholic beverages. The state is not alone but one of 18 control states with then alcohol laws.

Today Utah’s law states that there is a limit of 4 percent alcohol by volume in beer to be sold in grocery, convenience stores, taverns, beer bars, restaurants and other establishments operating under a “beer only” type license. State liquor stores, package agencies, clubs and restaurants that are licensed to sell liquor are able to sell beer over 4 percent by volume. Utah laws also state that alcohol may not be sold past 1am in any commercial facilities.

Is Religion a Factor in Utah State Laws?

Many residents throughout the state of Utah are members to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The church teaches its member against the consumption of alcohol. With such a strong Mormon community within Utah the alcohol laws within the state have become strict in comparison to other states throughout the Nation.

Other Alcohol Beverage Control States

  1. Alabama
  2. Idaho
  3. Iowa
  4. Maine
  5. Maryland
  6. Michigan
  7. Mississippi
  8. Montana
  9. New Hampshire
  10. North Carolina
  11. Ohio
  12. Oregon
  13. Pennsylvania
  14. Vermont
  15. Virginia
  16. West Virginia
  17. Wyoming

 

Dr Kate Smith

Clinical Reviewer

More about Dr. Kate Smith

Dr. Kate Smith is a licensed professional and has worked in the mental health and substance abuse disorder fields for over 10 years. She earned her bachelor’s degree in Social Work from Florida Atlantic University, graduating magna cum laude from her class. She obtained her Masters in Social Work (MSW) at Barry University in an accelerated program.

More about Dr. Kate Smith

Our helpline is 100% free & confidential

If you or your loved one are suffering from a drug or alcohol addiction, we can guide you through your options for recovery. Don’t try to go at it alone—reach out for support.
(877) 683-2684

Will my insurance cover addiction treatment?

humana

QuitAlcohol.com is not affiliated with any insurance

We're ready to help

Find the best alcohol treatment center

Are you or a loved one struggling with addiction? Call today to speak to a treatment expert.
Get started
  • (877) 683-2684

How Our Free Helpline Works

Quit Alcohol’s helpline is a private and convenient solution for those seeking treatment for addiction or mental illness. Calls to our helpline (all non-facility specific numbers) will be answered by a caring rehab advisor from Treatment Addiction Solutions or one of our verified treatment partners. Calls are routed based on geographic location and will help you navigate:

  • The various levels of care in relation to your overall treatment needs, budget, and insurance plan.
  • Additional factors such as co-occurring mental health disorders, family dynamics, and more.
  • Both local and out-of-state drug and alcohol addiction treatment options.
  • Understanding what to expect from the entire process so you can confidently get the help you need to start feeling better.

Our helpline is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at no cost to you and with no obligation for you to enter into treatment. In some cases, Quit Alcohol charges our verified partner a modest cost per call, which helps us cover the costs of building and maintaining our website. We do not receive any commission or fee that is dependent upon which treatment provider a visitor ultimately selects.